Two additional Mexican cities will receive migrants returned under "Remain in Mexico"

June 25, 2019

In late January the Department of Homeland Security announced a new set of procedures called the Migrant Protection Protocols, known informally as the Remain in Mexico policy. Under these procedures, individuals who illegally entered the U.S. from Mexico can be returned to Mexico, where they remain for the duration of their immigration proceedings.

Under pressure from President Donald Trump's tariff threat, Mexico agreed earlier this month to apply the Migrant Protection Protocols (MPP) to its entire northern border, but capacity limitations on both sides have slowed implementation. Mexico has also deployed more than 25,000 federal force personnel to detain migrants at the country’s northern and southern borders.

Under the MPP, migrants are already being returned to Tijuana and Mexicali in Baja California, and Ciudad Juarez in the state of Chihuahua, which borders Texas and New Mexico.

Migrant Protection Protocols

Now Reuters has reported that MPP will be expanded to Nuevo Laredo in the Mexican state of Tamaulipas, which borders Texas, citing two Mexican officials who declined to be identified.

One of those Mexican officials reportedly added that the policy would also be expanded to San Luis Rio Colorado in the northern Mexican state of Sonora, bordering Arizona. The Mexican newspaper Reforma has confirmed that statement.

Filed Under